Uncategorized

A Lesson in Humility

Today was a difficult day, which started off with an early morning visit to the doctor with one sick child, then moved on to a late morning visit to the dentist with another child in extreme pain. From that point on, everything that could go contrary to plan, pretty much did!

At one point, being very much sleep deprived, tired, feeling overworked, I moaned ‘Why now, why today, why me?’ But as soon as I said the words out loud, I realized how arrogant I sounded! What was so special about me? And that led me to ask myself ‘Why not me?’

According to the Urban Dictionary, arrogance is defined as an overbearing boastful pride evidenced towards others or to situations. And humilty is defined as a modest or low view of ones own importance. Islamically, I think I would add to those definitions and say that arrogance includes believing that one is above or superior to the life route that Allaah has laid out for them, and believing that their worldly success is by their own doing, while humility would be to acknowledge that every moment of our lives has already been pre-planned and whatever success we achieve is only as a blessing from Allaah, not because of anything we have done to deserve this barakah, but because Allaah is Most Giving, Most Kind! Difficulties can lead one to disillusionment, or allow you to place your hope and faith in Allaah’s grace.

لَا يُكَلِّفُ اللَّهُ نَفْسًا إِلَّا وُسْعَهَا

“Allah does not burden a soul beyond that it can bear…”(Qur’an, 2:286),

…and with that in mind, I take a deep breathe (okay 3 deep breaths) and go back to the tasks of parenthood, and life in general that Allaah has set out for me today. Image

2 thoughts on “A Lesson in Humility

  1. Salaams. I think your blog is so amazing, informative and witty.. I love reading ur daily posts and look forward to hearing ur new challenges that you face and how you seem to always look on the positive and HAPPY side of life…I’m also learning along the way with the addition of Hadith and quotes…thank you and already waiting for another adventure tomorrow .. #mumof2lilbelivers#

    Like

    1. As-salaam-u-alaikum, Shukran for your kind words! As parents we face challenges everyday, but maintaining a positive attitude helps me cope better. Its something I learnt growing up in a very optimistic minded family, Alhamdulillah. May Allaah guide us both in our endevours InshaAllah ♡

      Like

Leave a Reply

