Uncategorized

My Pillars of Strength

We’ve heard it said many times that the role of a mother encompasses so many different facets. Some of those include, but are not limited to, cook, cleaner, nanny, driver, coach, tutor, playmate, nurse, teacher, friend, disciplinarian, supporter, fan…

Personally, I wouldn’t be capable of achieving all that is needed of me without some incredible women in my life. Women who’ve known me all my life, and some whom I’ve only met a few short years ago. But these ladies hold me up when I can’t stand on my own, give me strength when I’m exhausted, have my back when I’m defenceless. These women are my rock!

And while I’ve always known this, it was while writing in this years Ramadaan Journal which I started with the kids(30 days of Shukr) that reminded me of how fortunate I am to have such strong women in my life.

They are my mom, my grandma, my aunt, my sister, and 4 wonderful friends, as well as my lovely Sister-in-law! In honour of them, I’m going to share some of my favourite quotes, which so happen to speak of their roles in my life.

For my Mom:

“What greater thing is there for human souls than to feel they are joined for life – to be with each other in silent, unspeakable memories” George Elliot

For my Grandma and my Aunt:

“You don’t choose your family. They are God’s gift to you as you are to them” Desmond Tutu

For my Sister:

“My sister shares a part of me…that no-one shall ever see. And when the days and miles divide us… The bond we have will live inside us. Together sharing dreams, love, and laughter… My sister for always, my friend… Forever!” Author Unknown

For my Sister-in-law and lovely friends:

“We are more than just acquaintances…its as if we are cut from the same fabric. Even though we appear to be sewn in a different pattern, we have a common thread that won’t be broken – by people, or years, or distance” Author Unknown

Of all the blessings Allaah has bestowed upon me, my favourite is most certainly the people in my life! Alhamdulillah for every one of you! ♡

2 thoughts on “My Pillars of Strength

Leave a Reply

