Uncategorized

Unforgettable

Sometimes, I enjoy pulling pranks on my children. They’re usually just spontaneous, and not thought out in detail. Yesterday was one that was brilliantly fantastic, and quite unexpected! Earlier in the day Little Man had watched the movie called ‘3 Ninja Kids’ and was rolling in laughter at the antics and slapstick humour. . Later that afternoon, he was building a model airplane and eating a packet of chips at the same time. He happened to drop a small piece, and as he bent down to pick it up off the floor, I quietly took the packet of chips with me to the kitchen. It took him a few minutes to realise his chips had disappeared, but when he did, he immediately raced towards the kitchen. When he got there, he found me standing in a mock ‘karate attack’ position! His expression was priceless!!! 

He shouted ‘Hayyaaaaah!’ and pretended to attack me. I imitated him, and we had the best mock martial arts fight EVER! Complete with exaggerated sound effects, and facial expressions.

A few seconds later, we both burst into fits of uncontrollable giggles! We laughed so hard, we were gasping for air, and our tummies hurt. It really was the best fun I’ve had in weeks, if not months. It made me wonder why, and where, and how exactly is it that we loose that uninhibited freedom of childhood? We become so self-conscious of what’s ‘proper’ and ‘right’ life sometimes becomes so rigid, and almost boring! 

I’m making a mental note to myself( well, and a literal one, in this post) to be more free, and unrestricted in these precious moments with my children. Soon enough they’re going to all grown-up, and I’m guessing that these moments of absurdity and hilarity, will probably be some of their most treasured childhood memories!  

“There is a place in every childhood, an enchanted place where colors are brighter, the air softer, and the morning more fragrant than ever again.” 

― Elizabeth Lawrence

I hope and pray I can keep this garden of childhood blooming as brightly as possible, and for as long as possible.

Leave a Reply

