Uncategorized

Storage Wars

Storage Wars

We live quite far from both my family and my inlaws. As a result we only get to see them once every few months, if we’re lucky about 3 times a year. Because of this, my kids grandparents do go a bit overboard with spoiling the kids in the short time we are together, to make up for the long distance apart. One of the things my parents, sister, and aunt do is to always buy the Little People huge amounts of toys.
I absolutely adore this, it saves me from toy shopping. The only downside is that I’m literally running out of space to store all of it! Little Man has a toy basket in his room, as does Little Miss. Then there’s a shelf high up, where all of the ‘special’ toys are kept. Remote controlled cars, train tracks, Lego sets, the good stuff! I have an entire bookshelf full of childrens books, in the passage. My books are now in a box under the bed! There’s also another huge box in the storeroom, with ‘outdoor’ toys. Things like balls, bats, tennis sets, golf sets, swingball, waterguns, frisbees. In the lounge, I have another 2 large storage boxes, one with board games and puzzles, and the other with more toys! This is all in addition to school requirements, art sets, paints, crayons, notebooks, madressa books, and my playgroup supplies. And while my homes isn’t as disastrous as the above image, I could foresee that’s exactly where we were heading! After my family’s last visit last month, where again, my Little People were wonderfully spoiled with more new toys, I hit upon a brilliant idea!
For every new toy they receive, they have to choose 2 older ones that they’ve outgrown. These are then given to a younger friend who would actually use it, instead of it sitting in a box gathering dust. It also teaches appreciation, and the concept of ‘paying it forward’
On the authority of Abu Hamzah Anas bin Malik (may Allah be pleased with him) – the servant of the Messenger of Allah (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) – that the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) said :”None of you will believe until you love for your brother what you love for yourself.” Related by Bukhari & Muslim
While this Hadeeth obviously has a stronger and deeper meaning, in explaining it to the children, I said that they’ve been blessed with new toys, and so they too should pass the blessings along to others, and share.
Another advantage to this, is that I finally have a bit of space and if we continue on this path, appreciation for what they have will grow, as well as the basic Islamic principles of caring for those around you, and for donating time and effort to charities. InShaAllah!
In this round of the storage wars we have Mummy:1 – Toys:0

For a more indepth explanation of this beautiful, timeless hadeeth, click here: http://www.40hadithnawawi.com/index.php/the-hadiths/hadith-13

Also, remember to ‘like’ my facebook page, for more regular updates, short introductions on superheroes (sahabas and ambiyah), definitions of Islamic terminology and more interaction. https://www.facebook.com/pages/Raising-Young-Believers/281283328678402?ref=hl

Leave a Reply

