Arts and crafts · Uncategorized

Singing Songs

A long while ago when Little Man was about 3 years old, a friend had given him a cd of nursery rhymes as a gift. He really enjoyed the songs and loved singing along, especially to the ones that had rhyming sounds.

There were 2 songs in particular that he enjoyed, ‘I’m a Little Teapot’ and ‘1,2,3,4,5, once I caught a fish alive’. I decided then to change the lyrics to more Islamic sounding words, so I could teach him about our faith, while still allowing him to have fun.

This is sung to the tune of ‘I’m a Little Teapot’

“I’m a little muslim; Small and proud

I love Islam; Shout it out loud

Here is my eemaan (point to heart) This is my faith

It teaches me to love; And not to hate

‘Coz I’m a little muslim; Small and proud

I love Allaah! Shout it out looouuuddd”

This one to the tune of ‘1,2,3,4,5, Once I caught a fish alive’

“1,2,3,4,5, I’m a muslim, I’m alive

6,7,8,9,10, Its time to pray salaah again

I can hear the athaan…Salaah is a pillar of Islam

Let’s make our wudhu …5 times a day, this is what we do

1,2,3,4,5, I’m a muslim, I’m alive

6,7,8,9,10, Its time to pray salaah again”

I’ve recently taught these lyrics to Little Miss, and she’s being singing them constantly as well, even singing them in her sleep. Almost like parenting deja -vu, but in a happy way.

2 thoughts on “Singing Songs

  1. Another poem thats similar to that is :

    1, 2, 3, 4, 5
    Allah Ta’ala gave me life

    6, 7, 8, 9, 10
    Then He let me grow again.

    Why does He let me grow?
    Because He loves me so much so.

    Why should I love Him so?
    So that to Jannah, I may go!

    Like

Leave a Reply

