Personal Journeys (Guest Writers) · Uncategorized

Global Muslim Mummy – Saima

Saima is a 32 year old mum from Karachi, Pakistan is the next contributor to our GLOBAL MUSLIM MUMMY series. Karachi is a coastal city and one of the largest in Pakistan. It is also the main seaport and financial centre of the country. Karachi is also known as City of Lights. It is within this bustling, vibrant metropolitan that Saima raises her children.

global muslim mummy

These are her responses to the questions:

1.How many children do you have, and how old are they?

Alhamdulillah, I have two sons, aged 12 and 9 years.

2.What was your first reaction when you found out you were going to be a mum?

Well, that was many years back but I still remember it as if it were yesterday 🙂 I was definitely overjoyed since this is a big blessing, but my inner self was feeling nervous and frightened of the thoughts of delivery pains and sleepless nights.

3.What was the most difficult part of your pregnancy?

Vomiting and nausea in the beginning stages was the most dreadful part.. something I can’t describe how I felt during those days. I could neither eat or drink anything, not even ZamZam! I slept most of the time and whenever I got up I felt dizzy and vomited. Then I slept again. The first two months were tough in both of my pregnancies. Thanks to Allah Almighty, I survived those days and Alhamdulillah the rest of the pregnancy period went smoothly.

4.How did you decide on your childrens names?

My husband named the first child on the name of the Prophet and the second one with the name of his late grandfather.

5.How would you describe your parenting style?

This is a tough question. I try hard to balance and keep my kids busy with all compulsory chores like studying, reading the Quran, performing obligations, reading story books, playing a good game of cricket and so on. For me, play is as compulsory as learning and I do give them a lot of free time to even play board games or just talk and relax.

6.What has been the most challenging part of being a parent?

The balance that I talked about is the hardest part in fact. To motivate kids to remain towards islam, say Salah regularly, read the Quran requires much effort from our side. Especially for me, since my elder son is a Quran hafiz, Alhamdulillah, so I have to make him sit every day in the morning or evening to recite at least one Juzz and strengthen it. That requires effort to not let his time be indulged in activities that are useless for him.

7.What’s been the most rewarding part of being a parent?

To see them grow, prosper and learn, in fact everything about parenting has been rewarding. The day they first smiled at me, the said their first words, the day they too their first steps, the day they wrote their first words… nothing was less rewarding than the other. With each milestone they achieve, the reward of parenting just multiplies.

8.How does being a Muslim influence your parenting decisions?

Every decision revolves around the fact that we are Muslims. Islam is a complete way of life and whatever we do or attempt to perform are based on the principles of Islam.

9.How do you instill Islamic identity into your children, in terms of lifestyle, education ect?

The biggest thing that I believe in that kids try to imitate their elders… so my husband and I try to become role models for them. By saying Salah, by giving charity when we elders do and our kids see, they will try to become like ourselves when they grow up.

I keep narrating to my kids, Islamic based stories from the Quran, about the life of the Prophet Muhammad (PBUH), about his companions and wives so they may have a keen knowledge of it all. ALso, they read a lot of such books too. My older one also reads Quran translation sometimes when we are sitting together and then we discuss what is being said there, so sayings about Salah, about Hajj and also about the events of war, my sons really enjoy and listen intently.

10.As a parent, what is the most oft-repeated dua that you make for your children?

I want my kids to be guided on the Siraat – e- Mustaqeem and stay on that path forever, to be regular Namazi’s such that they never miss any and they read and understand the Quran word to word and implement its teachings in their everyday lives.

11.What advice would you offer to other parents?

To be role models for their kids, become ideal characters which they want their own kids to become when they grow up.

12.And to end off on a lighter note, share with us  your favourite parenting quote/joke/meme ?

“My house isn’t messy – its custom designed by two active boys”


 

As mentioned by previous contributors to this series , Anisa, and Aasiyah, nausea affects more than 50% of pregnant woman. In extreme cases, it is known as Hyperemesis Gravidarum, and can lead to hospitalisation because of extreme weakness and weight loss. There is medication available, and some even swear by natural alternatives, like ginger tea. Whilst it may not seem as serious as some other pregnancy complaints, medical advice should be sought.


 

Thank you for sharing Saima, and mabrook on your son being such a young hafez. May Allah always bless him with the love of Quraan, and allow it to be a guiding light for him always. Ameen

Saima is a fellow blogger, and if youd like to read more from her, you  can find her blog here

3 thoughts on “Global Muslim Mummy – Saima

Leave a Reply

